一般信息

Coconut

椰子

椰子属棕榈科,整个热带地区都有种植。椰子可满足人类的很多需求,包括提供食物、饮料和建筑材料。它们能够长时间存活于海水中,对早期航海人员具有宝贵的价值,也因此分布广泛。椰子的分类通常以其生长习性为依据。全球范围内栽培的椰树中约 5% 为自花传粉的“矮树种”,异型杂交的“高树种”更为常见。

椰子的栽培脉络可能存在独立的两支: 一支为东南亚岛屿(太平洋盆地),而另一支则是印度次大陆南部边缘(印度洋-大西洋盆地)。“Niu vai” 类型椰子的外形更圆,椰子汁的含量也更高,它们仅产于太平洋盆地地区。大约在 2250 年前,可能是南岛民族海员将椰子从菲律宾引进到南美洲的太平洋沿岸。而在 5 至 7 世纪之间,南岛民族和阿拉伯人把太平洋盆地的椰子传播到非洲的南部海岸、科摩罗群岛和马达加斯加岛。

Genesys 列出了 168 种椰子种质。其中大部分 (86%) 在位于象牙海岸的 Station de Recherche Marc Delorme 的田间基因库中, 属于第 15 条收藏,其他的则在美国。大约 43% 为传统品种和地方品种,40% 为改良品种。椰子冷藏研究仍在继续开展, 虽然其前途光明,但并未成为例行程序。

为了实现椰子基因资源的保护,全球性椰子策略针对以下行动进行了优先排序:进一步开展采集任务以缩小保存差距,就现有种质进行特征描述,改进记录系统,并提高国际椰子遗传资源网 (COGENT) 会员之间的合作。

原始名称
Coconut
Genesys 中的种质
Cocos_nucifera_(fruits).jpg
所属机构
CIV066
BRA035
USA047
USA108
CRI001
所属机构所在国家/地区
CIV
BRA
USA
CRI
最具代表性的属
Cocos
最具代表性的种
Cocos nucifera
其他名称
Coco-da-bahia
coconut

Coconut

Cocos nucifera

The coconut is a palm found throughout the tropics. Coconuts supply many human needs, including food, drink and building materials. The ability of the fruits to survive long periods in seawater, and their value to early seafaring people, has resulted in them being widely dispersed. Coconuts are often classified by their growth habit. About 5% of coconut palms cultivated worldwide are self-pollinating “Dwarfs” whilst the more common are out-crossing “Talls”.

Two independent coconut domestications probably took place: one in island Southeast Asia (Pacific basin) and the other on the southern margins of the Indian subcontinent (Indo-Atlantic basin). “Niu vai” types with rounded fruits and high coconut “water” content arose only in the Pacific basin. About 2250 BP, Austronesian seafarers probably introduced coconuts from the Phillippines into the Pacific coast of South America. Between the 5th and 7th centuries, Austronesians and Arabs dispersed coconuts from the Pacific basin to the southern coast of Africa, the Comoros and Madagascar.

Genesys lists 168 coconut accessions. The bulk of these (86%) are in a field genebank at the Station de Recherche Marc Delorme in Côte d’Ivoire, an Article 15 collection, with the remainder in the USA. About 43% are traditional cultivars and landraces and 40% are improved cultivars. Research into cryopreservation of coconut is continuing and shows promise but is not yet routine.

To achieve rational conservation of coconut genetic resources, the global strategy for Cocos nucifera prioritizes the following actions: conduct further collecting missions to address conservation gaps, characterize existing germplasm accessions, improve documentation systems, and increase collaboration among members of the International Coconut Genetic Resources Network (COGENT).

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names

Taxonomic rules