一般信息

Coffee

咖啡属

继石油之后,咖啡是世界第二大交易商品。全球每天消耗的咖啡数量超过 22.5 亿杯。巴西、越南、哥伦比亚、印度尼西亚和埃塞俄比亚是五个最大的咖啡生产国。咖啡出口国消耗总产量的将近 30%,剩余的均由进口国消耗。最广泛种植的咖啡属品种共有两种:小果咖啡(C. arabica,即阿拉伯咖啡)和中果咖啡(C. canephora,即罗布斯塔咖啡)。前者栽培于中南美洲、中非和东非,以及南亚和东南亚;后者则种植于巴西、西非、马达加斯加和越南。在世界范围内生产的咖啡有 64% 为阿拉伯咖啡。其他咖啡属品种的栽培规模较小,包括大果咖啡 (C. liberica)、高产咖啡 (C. dewevrei) 和思迪诺菲拉咖啡 (C. stenophylla)。咖啡是全球超过 2500 万家庭的重要收入来源。由于其所具有的价值,它在多个国家经济中扮演着关键角色。

阿拉伯咖啡中果咖啡欧基尼奥伊德斯咖啡 (C. eugenioides) 的杂交品种。阿拉伯咖啡原产于埃塞俄比亚南部、南苏丹,也有可能是肯尼亚的湿润丛林中。该作物的历史较短。其最早的使用记录见于 1500 年前。据推定,咖啡在 6 世纪从非洲传入也门。一般认为是马可波罗在 13 世纪 70 年代将咖啡从穆哈(也门)带到威尼斯。一群荷兰的园丁于 1616 年在荷兰的莱顿植物园 (Leiden Botanical Gardens) 内开始种植咖啡。他们从这里将其传入到马拉巴尔海岸(印度)和巴达维亚(今印度尼西亚境内)。在 1720 年,一个法国人在马提尼克栽种了一株咖啡树,随后该植株被传播到西印度群岛、中南美洲和斯里兰卡。

中果咖啡源于非洲的热带丛林,所涵盖地区从喀麦隆延伸到坦桑尼亚北部。它的栽培历史可以追溯到 19 世纪末,该种质尚未经历像阿拉伯咖啡那样的重要基因瓶颈。因此,它具有更丰富的基因多样性,是培育罗布斯塔和阿拉伯咖啡的重要特性源。

全球性咖啡基因资源保护策略最近确定了保存在若干基因库收藏中的 21,026 种咖啡种质。在报告的种质中,接近 60% 是阿拉伯咖啡,3% 为中果咖啡,其余的 37% 都是其他的咖啡属品种。非洲基因库的保护重点集中于野生材料,而拉丁美洲基因库则关注育种材料。Genesys 包含存于 Centro Agronómico Tropical de Investigación y Enseñanza (CATIE) 的咖啡种质信息,该中心是唯一一个包含植物公约第 15 条材料的机构。

原始名称
Coffee
Genesys 中的种质
21760763816_9f3f9d8f09_o.jpg
所属机构
CRI001
所属机构所在国家/地区
最具代表性的属
Coffea
最具代表性的种
Coffea arabica
Coffea sessiliflora
Coffea sp.
Coffea pseudozanguebariae
Coffea brevipes
其他
21
其他名称
coffee

Coffee

Coffea spp.

After petroleum, coffee is the second most traded commodity worldwide. Everyday, over 2.25 billion cups of coffee are consumed globally. Brazil, Vietnam, Colombia, Indonesia and Ethiopia are the top five coffee producers. Coffee exporting countries consume almost 30% of total production, the rest being consumed by importing countries. Two Coffea species are most commonly grown: C. arabica (or Arabica coffee) and C. canephora (Robusta coffee). The former is cultivated in Central and South America, Central and East Africa, South and Southeast Asia; the latter is grown in Brazil, West Africa, Madagascar and Vietnam. About 64% of the coffee produced worldwide is Arabica. Other Coffea species are cultivated on a smaller scale, including C. liberica, C. dewevrei and C. stenophylla. Coffee is an important source of income for more than 25 million families worldwide. Thanks to its value, it has a critical role in the economies of several countries.

C. arabica is an hybrid between C. canephora and C. eugenioides. Arabica coffee is native to the humid forests of southern Ethiopia, South Sudan and probably Kenya. It is rather a young crop. The earliest record documenting its use is from 1500 years ago. Coffee was presumably taken from Africa to Yemen in the 6th century. Marco Polo has been credited for bringing coffee from Mocha (Yemen) to Venice between in the 1270s. In 1616, a group of Dutch gardeners started to grow coffee at the Leiden Botanical Gardens in the Netherlands. From there, they dispersed the plant to Malabar (India) and Batavia (now Indonesia). In 1720, a Frenchman planted a single coffee tree in Martinique, and later dispersed the plant to the West Indies, Central and South America and Sri Lanka.

C. canephora originated in the forests of tropical Africa, including areas from Cameroon to northern Tanzania. Its cultivation dates back to the end of the 19th century, and the plant has not yet been exposed to as strong a genetic bottleneck as Arabica. Therefore, it has more genetic diversity and it is an important source of traits for breeding both Robusta and Arabica coffees.

The Global Conservation Strategy for Coffee Genetic Resources recently identified 21,026 coffee accessions held in several genebank collections. Almost 60% of the reported accessions are C. arabica, followed by 3% C. canephora, and the remaining 37% other Coffea species. African genebanks have focused their conservation efforts towards wild materials, whereas the Latin American genebanks have an emphasis on breeding materials. Genesys displays information on the coffee accessions held at the Centro Agronómico Tropical de Investigación y Enseñanza (CATIE), which is the only one to contains material available under Article 15 of the Plant Treaty.

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names

coffee