一般信息

Eggplant

茄是旧大陆的茄属作物,因其味道,及所含抗氧化和微量营养素而具有相当高的价值。已知的栽培品种有三种:大果茄 (Solanum macrocarpon)、红茄 (S. aethiopicum) ,以及茄子 (S. melongena)。

大果茄 (S. macrocarpon) 原产于非洲热带地区。它在今天被种植于西非、东非和中非,以及苏里南和加勒比地区,以收获其叶子和果实。红茄 (S. aethiopicum) 也原产于非洲,但如今在南美洲的热带地区和加勒比地区也有栽培。茄子 (S. melongena) 的人工栽培最初可能出现在印度、缅甸和中国的交界地带,并于 7 世纪至 8 世纪之间被传到地中海盆地。时至今日,S. melongena 是最重要的栽培茄类,被广泛种植于南欧和亚洲。

Genesys 记录了约 6,500 种茄属种质,其中的三分之一为地方品种。世界蔬菜中心保存有 3,000 种左右的种质,荷兰基因资源中心以 1,000 种种质紧随其后,奈梅亨大学排名第三。

茄类育种的目标各异,包括提高其抵御非生物和生物胁迫的能力,改良其营养成分,增加其产量并优化其果实品质。

原始名称
Eggplant
Genesys 中的种质
42429392091_e74d2020d8_o.jpg
所属机构
TWN001
USA016
NLD037
ARM005
FRA011
其他
597
所属机构所在国家/地区
USA
NLD
ARM
ITA
其他
462
最具代表性的属
Solanum
最具代表性的种
Solanum melongena
Solanum aethiopicum
Solanum scabrum
Solanum torvum
Solanum macrocarpon
其他
203

General information

Eggplant

Eggplants

Eggplants are an Old World solanaceous crop, valued for its taste as well as antioxidant and micronutrient contents. Three cultivated species are known: the Gboma eggplant (Solanum macrocarpon), the scarlet eggplant (S. aethiopicum) and the brinjal eggplant (S. melongena).

S. macrocarpon is native to tropical Africa. It is grown today for its leaves and fruits in West, East and Central Africa, Surinam and the Caribbean. S. aethiopicum is native to Africa as well, but it is now also cultivated in tropical South America and the Caribbean. The domestication of S. melongena probably took place in the area between India, Myanmar and China. The brinjal eggplant reached the Mediterranean basin between the 7th and 8th centuries. Today, S. melongena is the most important cultivated eggplant, widely grown in South Europe and Asia.

Genesys records about 6,500 eggplant germplasm accessions, with a third being landraces. Approximately 3,000 accessions are held by the World Vegetable Center, followed by the 1,000 accessions held in The Netherlands by the Centre for Genetic Resources and the University of Nijmegen.

The breeding objectives for eggplant are varied, including resistance to abiotic and biotic stresses, improved nutritional content, high yields and enhanced fruit quality.

Original name
Eggplant
Accessions in genesys
42429392091_e74d2020d8_o.jpg
Holding institutes
TWN001
USA016
NLD037
NLD020
ARM005
Other
788
Country of holding institute
NLD
USA
ARM
AZE
Other
544
Most represented Genera
Solanum
Most represented Species
Solanum melongena
Solanum aethiopicum
Solanum scabrum
Solanum villosum
Solanum nigrum
Other
454