一般信息

Taro

芋 (Colocasia esculenta) 又被称作芋艿和黄肉芋,是高度多样态的物种,栽培于湿润的热带和亚热带。它在西非、亚洲、太平洋和美洲,尤其是加勒比地区是重要的主食之一。

这种块茎作物被视为世界上最古老的作物之一。根据相关报告,人类的使用可以追溯到 28000 年前的所罗门群岛。它的人工栽培可能发生在两个不同的地点:一个在印度东北部,另一个在新几内亚。南太平洋群岛的岛民将其从新几内亚带到玻里尼西亚和密克罗尼西亚。芋可能在铁器时代与香蕉和山药 (Dioscorea alata) 一起传入非洲。该作物如何传到美洲尚没有定论。南亚的品种可能由葡萄牙人引进,而亚洲品种(如,源于日本、菲律宾和越南)则可能是西班牙人带到美洲的。

Genesys 提供了 1,169 种芋种质的信息。其中大部分都保存于斐济的太平洋作物和太平洋区域树木中心 (SPC) 。

由于潜在的致命病害,芋的种植受到限制,例如由芋疫病 (Phythophtora colocasiae) 导致的芋叶枯病等。新抗病品种的开发及其多样性的保护被确定为该作物研究的重点。

原始名称
Taro
Genesys 中的种质
Colocasia_esculenta_dsc07801.jpg
所属机构
FJI049
PHL129
ESP172
TWN001
所属机构所在国家/地区
PHL
ESP
TWN
最具代表性的属
Colocasia
最具代表性的种
Colocasia esculenta
Colocasia escuelenta
Colocasia antiquorum
最近描述符列表

Taro

Colocasia esculenta

Taro (Colocasia esculenta), also known as cocoyam and malanga, is a highly polymorphic species, cultivated in the humid tropics and sub-tropics. It is an important staple in West Africa, Asia, the Pacific and the Americas, particularly the Caribbean.

This tuber crop is considered one of the oldest in the world. Reports of human use date back 28000 BP in the Solomon Islands. Its domestication probably took place in two separate places: one in northeast India and the other in New Guinea. Austronesians spread taro from New Guinea to Polynesia and Micronesia. Taro probably reached Africa together with bananas and yam (Dioscorea alata) during the Iron Age. The spread of the crop to America is still unclear. South Asian cultivars were probably introduced by the Portuguese, whilst Asian cultivars (e.g., from Japan, the Philippines and Vietnam) were probably introduced by the Spanish to the Americas.

Genesys provides information for 1,169 accessions. Most of these are held at the Centre for Pacific Crops and Trees of the Pacific Community (SPC) in Fiji. 

Taro production is constrained by potentially devastating diseases, such as the taro leaf blight, caused by Phythophtora colocasiae. The production of new disease-resistant varieties, and the conservation of its diversity, have been identified as research priorities for this crop.

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names