معلومات عامة

Maize

زيا مايز

إن الذرة (زيا مايز)، وتُعرف أيضًا بحبوب الذرة، هي نبات سنوي تتم زراعته للحصول على حبوبه والكتلة الحيوية منه. تتم تربية الذرة في جميع أنحاء العالم؛ فهي أحد أهم المحاصيل في العالم نظرًا لمساحة المناطق التي تنمو فيها وإجمالي إنتاجها. والذرة محصول رئيسي في أمريكا اللاتينية، وأفريقيا جنوب الصحراء، وجنوب شرق آسيا.

بدأت زراعة الذرة في جنوب غرب المكسيك منذ 6000 إلى 10000 سنة مضت. نشر الأمريكيون الأصليون الذرة في جنوب غرب الولايات المتحدة، ومنطقة الكاريبي، وأمريكا الجنوبية قبل وصول كولومبوس. وفيما بعد انتشرت الذرة إلى مناطق أخرى من العالم في إطار عملية يُطلق عليها في بعض الأوقات التبادل الكولومبي.

يتم الاحتفاظ بالذرة على هيئة بذور. وتضم جينيسيس أكثر من 100,000 سجل به مُدخلات للذرة نصفها لسلالات تقليدية. توجد أكبر مجموعات ذرة في البنوك الوراثية الخاصة بـ USDA، والمركز الدولي لتحسين الذرة والقمح (CIMMYT). كما تشير الاستراتيجية العالمية للحفاظ على الموارد الوراثية للذرة واستخدامهاإلى وجود مجموعة ثالثة ضخمة في المركز التعاوني للمخزون الوراثي للذرة في أوربانا.

يعمل CIMMYT والمعهد الدولي للزراعة الاستوائية (IITA) مع شركاء آخرون في البرنامج البحثي CGIAR الخاص بالذرة (MAIZE). يهدف MAIZE إلى توسيع تبني أنواع من الذرة مُحسنة وقادرة على تحمل الظروف القاسية في الدول ذات الدخل المنخفض والمتوسط في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء، وأمريكا اللاتينية، وآسيا.

الاسم الأصلي
Maize
المحاصيل في جينيسيس
43612352170_2fc3eb7226_o.jpg
منشآت الحيازة
أخرى
٢٧٬٧٦٠
دولة منشأة الحيازة
الأجناس الأكثر تمثيلًا
Tripsacum
Undetermined
Coix
الأنواع الأكثر تمثيلًا
Zea mays
Zea z.mays
Zea mais
Tripsacum dactyloides
Undetermined sp.
أخرى
١٦٩

Maize

Zea mays

Maize (Zea mays), also known as corn, is an annual plant grown for its kernels and biomass. It is cultivated worldwide and is one of the most important of the world’s crops in terms of harvested area and total production. Maize is a staple crop in Latin America, Sub-Saharan Africa and Southeast Asia.

Maize was domesticated in southwestern Mexico, between 6000 and 10000 BP. Native Americans dispersed maize to the US Southwest, the Caribbean and South America in pre-Columbian times. Later, maize was dispersed to other regions of the world as part of the process that is sometimes called the Columbian Exchange.

Maize is conserved in the form of seeds. Genesys contains more than 100,000 records of maize accessions, with half being landraces. The largest maize collections are held in USDA-ARS genebanks and the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT). The global strategy for the conservation and utilization of maize genetic resources identifies a third large collection maintained at the Maize Cooperative Genetic Stock Center, Urbana.

CIMMYT and the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) work together with other partners in the CGIAR Research Program on Maize (MAIZE). MAIZE aims to expand the adoption of improved stress-resilient maize varieties in low and middle-income countries in Sub-Saharan Africa, Latin America and Asia.

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names