一般信息

Maize

玉米

玉米 (Zea mays),又称包谷,是一年生植物,其籽呈粒状,产量极高。玉米在全世界广泛种植,就收获面积和总产量方面而言,是最重要的谷物之一。它是拉丁美洲、撒哈拉以南非洲和东南亚的主要作物。

早在 6,000 至 10,000 年前, 墨西哥西南部地区就已经开始栽培玉米。在前哥伦比亚时代,玉米经美洲原住民传播到美国西南部、加勒比地区,以及南美洲。继而在“哥伦布大交换”的作用下,广泛散播到世界其他各个地区。

玉米以种子的形式进行保存。Genesys 包含 100,000 多条玉米种质记录,其中有一半为地方品种。USDA-ARS 基因库国际玉米和小麦改良中心 (CIMMYT) 是最大的玉米收藏机构。全球性保护与利用玉米基因资源的策略确定了乌尔班纳玉米合作基因库中心 (Maize Cooperative Genetic Stock Center) 为玉米第三大收藏机构。

CIMMYT 和国际热带农业研究所 (IITA) 及 CGIAR 玉米研究计划 (MAIZE)的其他合作伙伴携手合作。其中,MAIZE 旨在推动撒哈拉以南非洲、拉丁美洲和亚洲的中低收入国家采用改良的抗压玉米品种。

原始名称
Maize
Genesys 中的种质
43612352170_2fc3eb7226_o.jpg
所属机构
MEX002
USA020
RUS001
USA174
UKR001
其他
28,188
所属机构所在国家/地区
其他
16,627
最具代表性的属
Undetermined
Coix
最具代表性的种
Zea mays
Zea z.mays
Zea mais
Undetermined spp.
Zea luxurians
其他
55

Maize

Zea mays

Maize (Zea mays), also known as corn, is an annual plant grown for its kernels and biomass. It is cultivated worldwide and is one of the most important of the world’s crops in terms of harvested area and total production. Maize is a staple crop in Latin America, Sub-Saharan Africa and Southeast Asia.

Maize was domesticated in southwestern Mexico, between 6000 and 10000 BP. Native Americans dispersed maize to the US Southwest, the Caribbean and South America in pre-Columbian times. Later, maize was dispersed to other regions of the world as part of the process that is sometimes called the Columbian Exchange.

Maize is conserved in the form of seeds. Genesys contains more than 100,000 records of maize accessions, with half being landraces. The largest maize collections are held in USDA-ARS genebanks and the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT). The global strategy for the conservation and utilization of maize genetic resources identifies a third large collection maintained at the Maize Cooperative Genetic Stock Center, Urbana.

CIMMYT and the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) work together with other partners in the CGIAR Research Program on Maize (MAIZE). MAIZE aims to expand the adoption of improved stress-resilient maize varieties in low and middle-income countries in Sub-Saharan Africa, Latin America and Asia.

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names