一般信息

Sunflower

向日葵

向日葵 (Helianthus annuus) 是第五重要油料作物,占全世界可食用植物油生产的 10%。在过去 50 年间,其作为全球膳食热量来源的地位愈发重要。该作物主要栽培于亚热带和热带地区,其全球年度生产价值约为 180 亿美元。

大约 4000 年前,人类开始在北美洲的东部和中部栽培向日葵。西班牙人在 16 世纪将该作物带到欧洲,其最初仅用于装饰目的。到了 18 世纪,彼得大帝将其引入俄罗斯,由于东正教的大斋节限制,其消耗和栽培变得日益流行。这些限制禁止信众使用多种油料作物,但并未明确提及向日葵。在同一时期,向日葵也被传播到其他东欧国家。之后,它又被传回到北美洲。向日葵在 20 世纪传到亚洲、澳大利亚、非洲和南美洲。

Genesys 维护着将近 10,000 种向日葵种质的信息,其中的 25% 为野生近缘种。USDA-ARS 拥有全球最全面的野生向日葵收藏

提高向日葵品种和杂交种的含油量始终是培育的主要目标之一。但随着环境挑战的出现和消费习惯的改变,新的目的也应运而生。它们包括在干旱条件下保持高产量,优化油料品质并增加向日葵粉中的蛋白质含量。

原始名称
Sunflower
Genesys 中的种质
Sonnenblumen_im_Bund.JPG
所属机构
USA020
RUS001
AUS165
UKR012
UKR001
其他
1,960
所属机构所在国家/地区
ROU
其他
1,122
最具代表性的属
Helianthus
Helianhtus
最具代表性的种
Helianthus annuus
Helianthus pustovojtii
Helianthus australis
Helianthus petiolaris
Helianthus tuberosus
其他
1,529

Sunflower

Helianthus annuus

Sunflower (Helianthus annuus) is the fifth most important oil crop, accounting for 10% of the world’s production of edible vegetable oil. Over the last 50 years, it has become an increasingly important source of calories in global diets. The crop is mainly cultivated in sub-tropical and tropical regions and its annual global production value is around USD 18 billion.

Sunflower was domesticated approximately 4000 BP in the eastern and central regions of North America. The Spanish introduced the crop to Europe in the 16th century, where it was initially used for ornamental purposes. During the 18th century, Peter the Great introduced it to Russia, where its consumption and cultivation became popular thanks to the Lent restrictions of the Orthodox Church. These prohibited the consumption of many oil crops, but did not explicitly mention sunflower. Sunflower also spread to other Eastern European countries during this period. It was later re-introduced to North America. Its expansion to Asia, Australia, Africa and South America took place during the 20th century.

Genesys holds information on almost 10,000 sunflower accessions, with 25% being of wild relatives. USDA-ARS maintains the most comprehensive wild sunflower collection globally.

Improving the oil content of sunflower varieties and hybrids continues to be one of the main breeding targets. However, new objectives are arising because of environmental challenges and changes in consumer habits. These include maintaining good yields under dry conditions, enhancing oil quality and  increasing the protein content of sunflower meal.

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names