Tomato

Solanum lycopersicum

Die Tomate (Solanum lycopersicum) ist das wichtigste Gemüse der Welt in Bezug auf das Anbaugebiet und Ernteumfang. Zehn Länder bauen 70 % aller Tomaten an: China, Indien, Nigeria, die Türkei, Ägypten, die USA, Russland, Italien und Mexiko. Der Wert der jährlichen weltweiten Produktion beträgt ungefähr 92 Milliarden USD.

Die Tomate und ihre wilden Verwandten stammen aus Südamerika. Zwei getrennte Domestizierungen wurden vorgeschlagen: eine in Peru und eine in Mexiko. Tomaten wurden wahrscheinlich nach der Eroberung von Tenochtitlan 1521 durch Hernán Cortés nach Spanien gebracht und gelangten von dort nach Neapel und haben das italienische Essen für immer verändert. Die Domestizierung der Tomate in Europa wurde während des 18. und des 19. Jahrhunderts gefördert und führte zur Tomate, wie wir sie heute kennen. Über England gelangten Tomaten in den Nahen Osten und nach Nordamerika.

Eine der wichtigsten Sammlungen von wilden Tomaten in der Welt befindet sich beim Tomato Genetics Resource Center in Davis, Kalifornien. Seine Akzessionen werden in Genesys zusammen mit anderen wichtigen Tomatensammlungen, die sich in den USA, Taiwan,Russland undSpanienbefinden, geführt.

Tomatenzüchter haben vom wilden Genpool des Gewächses sehr profitiert. Mehr als 50 Eigenschaften wurden erfolgreich von wilden Verwandten auf kommerzielle Tomatenarten übertragen. Dazu gehören ein höherer Feststoffanteil (eine sehr gewünschte Eigenschaft in der Lebensmittelindustrie), eine bessere Toleranz gegenüber Trockenperioden und eine längere Haltbarkeitsdauer.

Allgemeine Informationen

Größe der Genbank-Sammlungen

Sonstige akzeptierte Namen

Taxonomie-Regeln

+ Solanum arcanum

+ Solanum cheesmaniae

+ Solanum chilense

+ Solanum chmielewskii

+ Solanum corneliomuelleri

+ Solanum esculentum

+ Solanum galapagense

+ Solanum habrochaites

+ Solanum habrochaites x lycopersicum

+ Solanum hirsutum

+ Solanum huaylasense

+ Solanum juglandifolium

+ Solanum lycopersicoides

+ Solanum lycopersicon

+ Solanum lycopersicum

+ Solanum lycopersicum x chilense

+ Solanum lycopersicum x habrochaites

+ Solanum lycopersicum x lycopersicum

+ Solanum lycopersicum x pennellii

+ Solanum lycopersicum x pimpinellifolium

+ Solanum neorickii

+ Solanum ochranthum

+ Solanum parvifolium

+ Solanum pennellii

+ Solanum peruvianum

+ Solanum pimpinellifolium

+ Solanum pimpinellifolium x lycopersicum

+ Solanum rickii

+ Solanum sitiens

Mehr laden ...

Tomato

Solanum lycopersicum

Tomato (Solanum lycopersicum) is the world’s most important vegetable in terms of cultivated area and harvested volume. Ten countries account for 70%  of the world’s tomato acreage: China, India, Nigeria, Turkey, Egypt, USA, Iran, Russia, Italy and Mexico. The annual global production value is around USD 92 billion.

Tomato and its wild relatives are native to South America. Two separate domestication “events” have been proposed: one taking place in Peru and the other one in Mexico. Tomato was probably introduced to Spain by Hernán Cortés after the capture of Tenochtitlan in 1521, and thence taken to Naples, changing Italian food forever. The domestication of tomato was furthered in Europe during the 18th and 19th centuries, resulting in the crop as it is known today. From England, tomatoes were spread to the Middle East and to North America.

One of the most important wild tomato collections in the world is held at the Tomato Genetics Resource Center in Davis, California. Its accessions are listed in Genesys, together with other important tomato collections located in the USA, Taiwan, Russia and Spain.

Tomatoes breeders have greatly benefited from the wild genepool of the crop. More than fifty traits have been successfully transferred from wild relatives to commercial tomato varieties, including higher content of solids (a highly desirable trait in the food industry), increased tolerance to drought, and longer shelf life. 

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names

Taxonomic rules

+ Solanum arcanum

+ Solanum cheesmaniae

+ Solanum chilense

+ Solanum chmielewskii

+ Solanum corneliomuelleri

+ Solanum esculentum

+ Solanum galapagense

+ Solanum habrochaites

+ Solanum habrochaites x lycopersicum

+ Solanum hirsutum

+ Solanum huaylasense

+ Solanum juglandifolium

+ Solanum lycopersicoides

+ Solanum lycopersicon

+ Solanum lycopersicum

+ Solanum lycopersicum x chilense

+ Solanum lycopersicum x habrochaites

+ Solanum lycopersicum x lycopersicum

+ Solanum lycopersicum x pennellii

+ Solanum lycopersicum x pimpinellifolium

+ Solanum neorickii

+ Solanum ochranthum

+ Solanum parvifolium

+ Solanum pennellii

+ Solanum peruvianum

+ Solanum pimpinellifolium

+ Solanum pimpinellifolium x lycopersicum

+ Solanum rickii

+ Solanum sitiens

Load more...