一般信息

Tomato

番茄

以栽培地区和收获量论,番茄 (Solanum lycopersicum) 是全球最重要的蔬菜。以下十个国家的番茄种植面积占了全世界的 70%:中国、印度、尼日利亚、土耳其、埃及、美国、伊朗、俄罗斯,意大利和墨西哥。全球年度生产价值约为 920 亿美元。

番茄及其近缘种原产于南美洲。学界一般认为其有两支独立的栽培“脉络”:一支为秘鲁,另一支则是墨西哥。番茄可能由 Hernán Cortés 在 1521 年占领特诺奇蒂特兰城之后带到西班牙,之后传入那不勒斯,从而永久性改变了意大利人的饮食。欧洲的番茄栽培在 18 和 19 世纪得到进一步发展,致使其至今为人所熟知。它从英格兰传播进入中东和北美洲。

世界最重要的野生番茄收藏之一保存于加利福尼亚州的戴维斯番茄基因资源中心。其种质与其他位于美国中国台湾俄罗斯西班牙的重要番茄收藏种质一并被 Genesys 列出

番茄的育种人员极大地受益于该作物的野生基因库。超过五十种野生近缘种的特性被成功转移到商用番茄品种,包括提高其固体含量(食品工业最理想的特性之一)、增加其对干旱的耐受性,以及延长其贮藏寿命。

原始名称
Tomato
Genesys 中的种质
14566173188_42a4e3185e_k.jpg
所属机构
TWN001
USA003
USA974
USA176
UKR021
其他
9,831
所属机构所在国家/地区
其他
6,376
最具代表性的属
Solanum
Lycopersicon
Lycopersicum
Calamagrostis
Vigna
最具代表性的种
Solanum lycopersicum
Lycopersicon esculentum
Solanum pimpinellifolium
Solanum peruvianum
Solanum lycopersicum x pimpinellifolium
其他
1,670

Tomato

Solanum lycopersicum

Tomato (Solanum lycopersicum) is the world’s most important vegetable in terms of cultivated area and harvested volume. Ten countries account for 70%  of the world’s tomato acreage: China, India, Nigeria, Turkey, Egypt, USA, Iran, Russia, Italy and Mexico. The annual global production value is around USD 92 billion.

Tomato and its wild relatives are native to South America. Two separate domestication “events” have been proposed: one taking place in Peru and the other one in Mexico. Tomato was probably introduced to Spain by Hernán Cortés after the capture of Tenochtitlan in 1521, and thence taken to Naples, changing Italian food forever. The domestication of tomato was furthered in Europe during the 18th and 19th centuries, resulting in the crop as it is known today. From England, tomatoes were spread to the Middle East and to North America.

One of the most important wild tomato collections in the world is held at the Tomato Genetics Resource Center in Davis, California. Its accessions are listed in Genesys, together with other important tomato collections located in the USA, Taiwan, Russia and Spain.

Tomatoes breeders have greatly benefited from the wild genepool of the crop. More than fifty traits have been successfully transferred from wild relatives to commercial tomato varieties, including higher content of solids (a highly desirable trait in the food industry), increased tolerance to drought, and longer shelf life. 

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names

Taxonomic rules

+ Solanum arcanum

+ Solanum cheesmaniae

+ Solanum chilense

+ Solanum chmielewskii

+ Solanum corneliomuelleri

+ Solanum esculentum

+ Solanum galapagense

+ Solanum habrochaites

+ Solanum habrochaites x lycopersicum

+ Solanum hirsutum

+ Solanum huaylasense

+ Solanum juglandifolium

+ Solanum lycopersicoides

+ Solanum lycopersicon

+ Solanum lycopersicum

+ Solanum lycopersicum x chilense

+ Solanum lycopersicum x habrochaites

+ Solanum lycopersicum x lycopersicum

+ Solanum lycopersicum x pennellii

+ Solanum lycopersicum x pimpinellifolium

+ Solanum neorickii

+ Solanum ochranthum

+ Solanum parvifolium

+ Solanum pennellii

+ Solanum peruvianum

+ Solanum pimpinellifolium

+ Solanum pimpinellifolium x lycopersicum

+ Solanum rickii

+ Solanum sitiens

Load more...