一般信息

Yam

薯蓣属

太平洋岛屿、非洲、亚洲和美洲拥有超过 600 个本地薯蓣属品种。很多薯蓣属品种人工栽培,称为山药。在湿润和半湿润热带地区,山药是超过 1 亿人口的碳水化合物、矿物质、维生素和食用纤维的重要来源。山药还被用于制作杀虫剂、狩猎用毒药、避孕化合物与治疗哮喘和关节炎的药品。在全球栽培和种植山药的地区中,将近 90% 集中在尼日利亚、象牙海岸、加纳和贝宁境内。

提出的三个独立栽培地区中,每个都有若干薯蓣属品种:东南亚有 D. alataD. esculentaD. bulbiferaD. hispidaD. pentaphyllaD. nummulariaD. oppositaD. japonica;西非有 D. rotundata、D. cayenensisD. bulbiferaD. preussiiD. praehelensisD. sansibarensisD. dumetorum;而哥伦比亚时代以前的美洲有 D. trifidaD. convolvulacea。考古发现的最早山药 (D. hispida ) 可追溯到 20000 年前,地点位于马来西亚的沙捞越。葡萄牙和西班牙航海家将亚洲山药带到美洲。时至今日,原产于亚洲的山药 (D. alata) 在非洲和加勒比地区被广泛种植。

非洲大陆和马达加斯加的农民继续利用野生山药,包括在丛林中选择植株并加以栽培。此类植株可能经历反复选择的过程,并与已栽培的品种进行杂交。

Genesys 包含将近 4,000 种山药种质的信息,其中有 76% 为传统品种。Genesys 的大多数种质收藏于国际热带农业研究所 (IITA) 的基因库

2010 年,一群专家制定了全球性山药保护策略。该策略突出了提高美洲和亚洲所采集薯蓣属品种和次要栽培品种代表性的必要性(除了 D. alataD. rotundata 以外)。该文件还确定了之前未被记录的山药异地保存,对改善离体和野外保存标准的迫切性进行批注,并强调了冷藏贮存的潜在好处。

鉴于山药对非洲的食品安全和创收的重要性,IITA 及其合作伙伴正引领研究努力,以改善两个主要的栽培山药品种:白山药 (D. rotundata) 和参薯 (D. alata)。这项计划旨在开发出高产,并能抵御重要病害(如,炭疽病和山药花叶病毒)的优质品种。

原始名称
Yam
Genesys 中的种质
5117734616_dffca9eb5d_o.jpg
所属机构
NGA039
FJI049
GBR004
CRI001
HRV041
其他
12
所属机构所在国家/地区
FJI
GBR
CRI
HRV
其他
12
最具代表性的属
Dioscorea
最具代表性的种
Dioscorea rotundata
Dioscorea alata
Dioscorea burkiliana
Dioscorea abyssinica
Dioscorea cayenensis
其他
360

Yam

Dioscorea spp.

Dioscorea is a genus with more than 600 species native to the Pacific Islands, Africa, Asia and America. Many Dioscorea species are cultivated and known as yams. Yams are an important source of carbohydrates, minerals, vitamins and dietary fiber for more than 100 million people in the humid and sub-humid tropics. Yams are also used to produce insecticides, to prepare poisons for hunting, and to produce birth control compounds and treatments for asthma and arthritis. Almost 90% of the global yam cultivated area and production is concentrated in Nigeria, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana and Benin.

Three independent areas of domestications have been proposed, each of them bringing several Dioscorea species into cultivation: in Southeast Asia (D. alata, D. esculenta, D. bulbifera, D. hispida, D. pentaphylla, D. nummularia, D. opposita and D. japonica); in West Africa (D. rotundata, D. cayenensis, D. bulbifera, D. preussii, D. praehelensis, D. sansibarensis and D. dumetorum); and in pre-Columbian tropical America (D. trifida and D. convolvulacea). The earliest archeological remains of yams (D. hispida) date back to 20000 BP, and were found in Sarawak, Malaysia. Portuguese and Spanish navigators dispersed Asian yams to America. Today, yams of Asian origin (D. alata) are extensively grown in Africa and the Caribbean.

Farmers in mainland Africa and Madagascar continue to utilize wild yams, including by selecting plants from forests and bringing them into cultivation. These plants may be exposed to recurrent selection processes and hybridization with cultivated species.

Genesys displays information for almost 4,000 yam accessions, 76% of them traditional cultivars. Most of the accessions in Genesys are held at the genebank of the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA).

In 2010, a group of experts prepared the yam global conservation strategy. The strategy highlights the need to increase the representativeness of Dioscorea collections from the Americas and Asia and of minor cultivated species (other than D. alata and D. rotundata). The document also identifies yam ex situ collections that were not previously recorded, remarks on the urgency to improve in vitro and field conservation standards, and emphasizes the potential benefits of cryopreservation.

Given the importance of yams for food security and income generation in Africa, IITA and its partners are leading research efforts to improve two major cultivated yam species: white yam (D. rotundata) and water yam (D. alata). This initiative aims to produce high-yielding varieties of good quality and resistant to important diseases such as anthracnose and yam mosaic virus.    

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names