一般信息

Cowpea

豇豆

豇豆 (Vigna unguiculata) 在非洲、东南亚和美洲部分国家的总种植面积超过 1150 万公顷,是全球第三重要的豆类。由于能在干燥和炎热的环境中生长,它被广泛栽培于半干旱地区。豇豆的种子富含营养,其蛋白质含量高达 25%。在非洲的部分文明中,它的叶子是重要的食物来源。豇豆还被用作动物饲料和绿肥。

豇豆起源于撒哈拉以南非洲,并先后传入东非、西非和亚洲。在亚洲,它演变为一种被称为长豇豆的蔬菜形态。该作物在 17 世纪奴隶贸易时期被带到美洲。

Genesys 包含超过 30,000 种种质信息,其中 60% 为地方或传统品种。豇豆最大的种质收藏保存于国际热带农业研究所 (IITA) USDA-ARS 基因库

国际热带农业研究所 (IITA) 国际家畜研究所 (ILRI) 共同开发出了能够适应旱季,且适于人类和动物食用的两用豇豆品种,并为西非农民所广泛接受。

全球性豇豆基因资源保护策略提供了二十条建议,以有效保存和利用该作物的多样性。它们包括:鼓励对现有收藏的安全复制,促进基础的植物研究(如,解决分类问题、在种源中心对病虫害进行特征描述),开展与记录现有种质的鉴定和评估,以及开发分子工具以确定重复收藏。

原始名称
Cowpea
Genesys 中的种质
3852088766_dd8bff518b_o.jpg
original.jpg
所属机构
NGA039
USA016
TWN001
RUS001
KEN212
其他
4,681
所属机构所在国家/地区
其他
4,299
最具代表性的属
Vigna
Sorghum
Teramnus
最具代表性的种
Vigna unguiculata
Vigna spp.
Vigna vexillata
Vigna ambacensis
Vigna reticulata
其他
863

Cowpea

Vigna unguiculata

Grown on more than 11.5 million hectares in Africa, Southeast Asia, and some countries in the Americas, cowpea (Vigna unguiculata) is the third most important pulse worldwide. It is widely planted in semi-arid regions because of its ability to produce in dry and hot conditions. Cowpea seeds are highly nutritious, thanks to a high protein content (c. 25%). Its leaves are an important food source for some cultures in Africa. Cowpea is also used for animal feed and green manure.

Cowpea originated in Sub-Saharan Africa and spread to East and West Africa, and then Asia. In Asia, it evolved into a vegetable form known as yardlong bean. The crop was introduced to America with the slave trade in the 17th century.

Genesys lists information on more than 30,000 accessions, 60% of which are landraces or traditional cultivars. The largest holdings are safeguarded at the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) and the USDA-ARS genebanks.

The International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) and the International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI) have together developed dual-purpose cowpea varieties for human and animal consumption during the dry season, which are receiving wide acceptance among farmers in West Africa.

The global strategy for the conservation of cowpea genetic resources compiles twenty recommendations to effectively conserve and use the diversity of the crop. These include: encourage safety duplication of existing collections; promote basic plant research (e.g. resolve taxonomic issues, and characterize viruses and diseases in centers of origin); perform and document evaluation and characterization of existing germplasm; and develop molecular tools to identify duplicates among collections.

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names