معلومات عامة

Cowpea

فجنا أنجويكيولاتا

اللوبياء (فجنا أنجويكيولاتا) هي ثالث أهم محصول بقولي في العالم حيث تُزرع على أكثر من 11.5 مليون هكتار في أفريقيا، وجنوب شرق آسيا، وبعض الدول في الأمريكتين, تُرزع اللوبياء على نطاق واسع في المناطق شبه القاحلة بسبب قابليتها على الإنتاج في الظروف الجافة والحارة. وتتمتع بذور اللوبياء بقيمة غذائية عالية وذلك بفضل محتوى البروتين العالي فيها (حوالي 25%). أما أوراق هذا المحصول فمن مصادر الغذاء الهامة في بعض الثقافات في أفريقيا. كما تُستخدم اللوبياء في إطعام الحيوانات والسماد الطبيعي الصديق للبيئة.

إن أفريقيا تحت الصحراء هي الموطن الأصلي للوبياء، ثم انتشر المحصول إلى شرق أفريقيا وغربها، ثم إلى آسيا. وفي آسيا تطور المحصول إلى نوع من الخضر يُعرف باسم فاصولياء ياردلونج. وتم إدخال اللوبياء إلى أمريكا مع تجارة العبيد في القرن السابع عشر.

تضم جينيسيس معلومات عن أكثر من 30,000 مُدخل للوبياء، منها 60% لسلالات محلية وأصناف تقليدية. توجد أكبر المجموعات في المعهد الدولي للزراعة الاستوائية (IITA) والبنوك الوراثية الخاصة بالخدمات الزراعية التابعة لوزارة الزراعة الأمريكية (USDA-ARS).

تعاون المعهد الدولي للزراعة الاستوائية (IITA) والمعهد الدولي لبحوث الثروة الحيوانية (ILRI) على تطوير أنواع ثنائية الغرض صالحة لاستخدام الإنسان والحيوان أثناء الفصول الجافة. ويتقبل المزارعون في غرب أفريقيا على نطاق واسع هذه الأنواع.

وقد حددت الاستراتيجية العالمية للاحتفاظ بالموارد الوراثية للوبياء عشرين توصية للاحتفاظ الفعَّال بالتنوع المحصولي في اللوبياء واستخدامه. وتشمل هذه التوصيات: تشجيع الاحتفاظ بنسخ احتياطية للمجموعات الموجودة حاليًا، وتعزيز الأبحاث الأساسية في هذا النبات (مثل حل مشكلات التصنيف، وتوصيف الفيروسات والأمراض في مراكز نشأة المحصول)، وتقييم الأصول الوراثية الموجودة وتوصيفها وتوثيقها، و تطوير أدوات جزيئية للتعرف على التكرارات بين المجموعات.

الاسم الأصلي
Cowpea
المحاصيل في جينيسيس
3852088766_dd8bff518b_o.jpg
original.jpg
منشآت الحيازة
NGA039
USA016
TWN001
RUS001
KEN212
أخرى
4,681
دولة منشأة الحيازة
أخرى
4,299
الأجناس الأكثر تمثيلًا
Vigna
Sorghum
Teramnus
الأنواع الأكثر تمثيلًا
Vigna unguiculata
Vigna spp.
Vigna vexillata
Vigna ambacensis
Vigna reticulata
أخرى
855

Cowpea

Vigna unguiculata

Grown on more than 11.5 million hectares in Africa, Southeast Asia, and some countries in the Americas, cowpea (Vigna unguiculata) is the third most important pulse worldwide. It is widely planted in semi-arid regions because of its ability to produce in dry and hot conditions. Cowpea seeds are highly nutritious, thanks to a high protein content (c. 25%). Its leaves are an important food source for some cultures in Africa. Cowpea is also used for animal feed and green manure.

Cowpea originated in Sub-Saharan Africa and spread to East and West Africa, and then Asia. In Asia, it evolved into a vegetable form known as yardlong bean. The crop was introduced to America with the slave trade in the 17th century.

Genesys lists information on more than 30,000 accessions, 60% of which are landraces or traditional cultivars. The largest holdings are safeguarded at the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) and the USDA-ARS genebanks.

The International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) and the International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI) have together developed dual-purpose cowpea varieties for human and animal consumption during the dry season, which are receiving wide acceptance among farmers in West Africa.

The global strategy for the conservation of cowpea genetic resources compiles twenty recommendations to effectively conserve and use the diversity of the crop. These include: encourage safety duplication of existing collections; promote basic plant research (e.g. resolve taxonomic issues, and characterize viruses and diseases in centers of origin); perform and document evaluation and characterization of existing germplasm; and develop molecular tools to identify duplicates among collections.

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names