ما هي جينيسيس؟

جينيسيس PGR (الموارد الوراثية النباتية) هي بوابة مجانية على الإنترنت تسمح باستكشاف تنوع المحاصيل العالمي من موقع إلكتروني واحد فقط.

تم إطلاق البوابة لأول مرة في عام 2008، وهي أكبر قاعدة بيانات عن الموارد الوراثية النباتية حيث تحتوي على 2.8 مليون مُدخل من البنوك الوراثية مما يشكل نحو ثلث العينات الموجودة في البنوك الوراثية حول العالم.

إن جينيسيس منصة قوية تسمح للمربين ومستخدمي البنوك الوراثية الآخرين بالبحث بسرعة عن عينات المحاصيل الموجودة في 446 مؤسسة حول العالم وطلبها. يجد المستخدمون جينيسيس نقطة دخول واحدة للمعلومات عن الموارد الوراثية النباتية العالمية عوضًا عن تجميعها من قواعد بيانات كثيرة ومتعددة.

كيف تعمل جينيسيس؟

تيسر بوابة جينيسيس على أي شخص يملك مجموعة تنوع محصولي مشاركة البيانات التي يملكها. تقوم المؤسسات الشريكة بتحميل معلومات عن مُدخلات المحاصيل لديهم على البوابة. يُمكن للمستخدمين استكشاف هذا المورد الضخم باستتخدام مجموعة متنوعة من المعايير. وما إن يعثروا على ما يبحثون عنه، يُمكن للمستخدمين طلب البذور والمواد النباتية الأخرى من العديد من البنوك الوراثية التي تحوز عليها.

تعرف على طريقة استخدام جينيسيس هنا.

لماذا تعد جينيسيس هامة؟

يتحتم علينا زيادة إنتاجية المحاصيل وتطوير أصناف تتأقلم مع التحديات البيئية والأحيائية الصعبة لنحمي مستقبل الإمدادات الغذائية في العالم. يطور المربون والعلماء معًا هذه الأصناف الجديدة عن طريق البحث بتعمق في التنوع المحصولي الواسع الموجود في البنوك الوراثية، حيث يجدون الموارد الوراثية النباتية التي ستوفر التكيفات المطلوبة للمحاصيل في المستقبل.

What is Genesys?

Genesys PGR (Plant Genetic Resources) is a free online global portal which allows the exploration of the world’s crop diversity through a single website.

First launched in 2008, it is the largest database of plant genetic resources, containing 2.8 million genebank accessions, which add up to around a third of the world’s genebank samples.

Genesys is a powerful platform that allows breeders and other genebank users to quickly search for – and request – crop samples located in 446 institutes around the globe. Instead of trawling through numerous databases, users find in Genesys one single entry-point to global PGR information.

How does Genesys work?

Genesys makes it easy for anyone with a collection of crop diversity to share their data. Partner institutions upload information about their crop accessions to the portal. Users can then explore this vast resource using a variety of criteria. Once they have found what they are looking for, users can request seeds and other planting materials from many of the genebanks holding them.

Find out how to use Genesys here.

Why is Genesys important?

To protect the future of the world’s food supply, we must increase crop productivity and develop cultivars which are better adapted to increasingly difficult environmental and biological challenges. Breeders and researchers develop these new cultivars by delving into the vast crop diversity found in genebanks, wherein they find plant genetic resources that will provide the adaptations required for the crops of the future.