常见问题

Genesys 是什么?

Genesys 是一个免费的在线门户网站,用户可以在这里浏览全世界所收集到的各种农作物。只需点击几下鼠标就能查询到保存在全世界几乎每个国家的种子和其他类型农作物的样品信息。本网站允许数百个基因库根据协议标准在一个单独的门户网站里共享信息。

从何时开始?

Genesys 项目开始于 2008 年。此后便成为植物育种和研究机构用于探索全球基因多样性的固定工具。

Genesys 与其他访问型数据库有何区别?

Genesys 的不同之处在于它将存储在全世界基因库中的数百万条种质信息整合到一个便于使用的门户网站里。用户不必访问多个独立数据库,只需使用一个搜索条目或过滤器即可同时搜索数百个基因库,可令前期基础工作更加高效并为重要研究内容节省出更多时间。

Genesys 有多少可用数据?

作为一个存有 280 万条数据记录的门户网站,Genesys 在其领域内是世界上最大的资源库。

数据来自哪里?

Genesys 整合了一些世界最大的独立基因库数据库(美国国家植物种质系统和 CGIAR 基因库)以及植物基因资源网(EURISCO - 欧洲植物基因资源搜索目录)。

这些网络中的任何一个都涵盖了众多机构和更多的独立网络 - 例如,EURISCO 所提供的 110 万份信息来自于欧洲各大研究中心、基因库和专业机构。

此外,许多独立基因库、研究机构和小型网络也在此门户网站上传了各自的收集信息以便在世界范围内共享。

我可以索取种子吗?

是的,许多种子(和其他类型的植物材料)数据已经在 Genesys 实现共享,用户可向其所属基因库申请索取。申请时,可能有直接链接到种质页面的索取材料链接。

是否需要付费才能加入?

Genesys 是完全免费的资源 - 免费加入免费使用。

数据多久会更新?

Genesys 的数据容量和细目始终在不断扩充。当有新的网络、机构和基因库加入、采集新材料以及在补充材料的可用数据时便会进行更新。

我可以上传自己的数据吗?

Genesys 欢迎植物基因资源社区的所有成员提交数据。您可以观看 该视频短片 来了解如何上传您的数据,或与 helpdesk@genesys-pgr.org 联系。

谁为 Genesys 提供资金支持?

Genesys 由全球农作物多样化信托基金提供支持,该基金受 农作物多样化捐助基金会资助。世界各国政府是该基金会的最大资助者。

Genesys 的用户是谁?

Genesys 有两大独立但又彼此关联的用户群。

一部分用户是基因库、专业机构和研究中心,他们使用 Genesys 向门户网站上传信息。

另一部分使用 Genesys 的用户是为了方便自身工作的育种员、研究员和政策制定者,以及能够充分利用 Genesys 强大搜索工具的使用者。

Frequently asked questions

What is Genesys?

Genesys is a free online portal which allows people to explore the world’s collected crop diversity through a single website. With just a few clicks, users can find information on seeds and other types of crop samples coming from, and conserved in, nearly every country in the world. The site allows hundreds of genebanks to share their data, according to agreed standards, in a single portal.

When did it start?

The Genesys project was launched in 2008. It has since developed into the plant breeding and research community’s established tool for exploring genetic diversity worldwide.

What makes Genesys different from other accession databases?

Genesys is different because it brings together information on millions of accessions stored in genebanks across the world into one easy-to-use portal. Rather than trawling through multiple individual databases, people are able to simultaneously search hundreds of genebank collections with a single search term or filter. This makes this essential preliminary work more efficient, freeing up more time for important research.

How much data is available on Genesys?

With 2.8 million accession records stored in the portal, Genesys is the largest resource of its kind in the world.

Where does the data come from?

Genesys brings together some of the world’s largest databases of individual genebanks (the US National Plant Germplasm System and the CGIAR genebanks) and plant genetic resource networks (EURISCO, the European Plant Genetic Resources Search Catalogue).

Each of these networks incorporates numerous institutions and many more individual networks – for example, the 1.1 million accessions provided by EURISCO come from research centers, genebanks and institutions across Europe.

In addition, many individual genebanks, research institutions and smaller networks have also uploaded their collection information to the portal to share with the world.

Can I request seeds?

Yes, many of the seeds (and other types of planting material) whose data is shared through Genesys are available on request from the holding genebank. When this is the case, there may be a link to request material directly from the accession page.

Does it cost anything to join?

Genesys is a completely free resource – free to join and free to use.

How often is the data updated?

The amount and detail of data on Genesys is constantly expanding. It is updated as and when networks, institutions and genebanks join the community, add material to their collections, and enrich the data available about their material.

Can I upload my own data?

Genesys welcomes submissions from across the plant genetic resources community. You can watch this short video to find out how to upload your data, or contact helpdesk@genesys-pgr.org

Who funds Genesys?

Genesys is supported by the Global Crop Diversity Trust, which is funded by the Crop Diversity Endowment Fund. National governments the world over are the largest contributors to this fund.

Who uses Genesys?

Genesys is used by two distinct but related groups of people.

On the one hand, there are the genebanks, institutes and research centers who use Genesys to upload information to the portal.

Then, there are those who use Genesys to inform their own work – breeders, researchers, and policymakers – and who are able to make the most of Genesys’s powerful search tools.