一般信息

Banana

芭蕉属

香蕉是最古老的水果作物之一,起源于东南亚和太平洋地区。一般认为早在 7000 多年前,人类就开始栽培香蕉。非洲东部和中部是香蕉的二级多样化中心。

大多数栽培香蕉都不产籽,因此种质必须以离体组培物形式保存在田间基因库中。Genesys 列出了 2,537 种种质。大多数放在比利时 Bioversity International 的国际种质交换中心 (International Transit Centre),少量收藏于澳大利亚、尼日利亚和美国。在 Genesys 列出的种质中,大约有 11% 属于野生近缘种。尽管其中大多数种质种出的水果都不能食用,但在培育新品种方面非常重要。与此同时,Bioversity 还维护有 ProMusa 门户网站,展示与香蕉有关的最新消息、调查结果和一般性知识。

由于香蕉是无性繁殖,种植园中的所有个体都可能是基因相同的克隆体。这使得香蕉种植园极易受到病虫害事件的影响。新品种的病原体对国际贸易品种造成的威胁已在全球范围内敲响了警钟,同时促进了抗病品种的开发。香蕉育种的另外一个目标是创造更有营养的品种。在香蕉作为主食作物,或用于使孩子断奶转吃辅食的地区,这一点尤其重要。目前努力的重点在于提升维生素原 A 的水平

全球性保护与使用芭蕉属基因资源的策略发端于 2007 年。这些策略旨在确定行动以更好地了解芭蕉属品种的多样性,并发现育种的潜在效用及改善现有种属收藏管理的机会。

原始名称
Banana
Genesys 中的种质
25810260945_2aa50a5d35_o.jpg
42150769110_1e84750eae_o.jpg
4821512908_a810ca16e5_o.jpg
所属机构
BEL084
SDN002
NGA039
FJI049
BRA004
其他
576
所属机构所在国家/地区
SDN
NGA
FJI
BRA
其他
576
最具代表性的属
Musa
最具代表性的种
Musa sp.
Musa acuminata
Musa aab
Musa aa
Musa aaa
其他
897

Banana

Musa spp.

Banana is one of the most ancient fruit crops. It originated in Southeast Asia and the Pacific region and is believed to have first been domesticated more than 7000 BP. East and Central Africa are secondary centres of diversity.

Most cultivated bananas do not produce seeds, so accessions have to be preserved as tissue cultures in vitro and in field genebanks. Genesys lists 2,537 accessions. The vast majority are held at Bioversity International’s International Transit Centre in Belgium, with smaller collections in Australia, Nigeria and USA. About 11% of the accessions listed in Genesys are wild relatives. While the fruit of most of these is inedible, they are very important in efforts to breed new varieties. Bioversity also maintains ProMusa, a portal with the latest news, research results and general knowledge about bananas.

Because bananas are multiplied vegetatively, all the individuals in a plantation may be genetically identical clones. This makes banana plantations highly susceptible to outbreaks of pests and diseases. The threat to internationally-traded varieties from new races of pathogens has created worldwide alarm and a drive to develop resistant varieties. Another target of banana breeding is to create varieties that offer better nutrition. This is especially important where bananas are a staple crop, or used to wean children onto solid food. Efforts are focused on increasing levels of vitamin A precursors.

A global strategy for the conservation and use of Musa genetic resources was prepared in 2007. These strategies identify actions to better understand the diversity of Musa species and thus identify potential uses in breeding, and opportunities to improve the management of existing collections.

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names