معلومات عامة

Pigeonpea

كاجنس كاجان

البازلاء الهندية (كاجنس كاجان) (بازلاء الحمام) هي سادس أهم محصول قابل للأكل من البقوليات على مستوى العالم حيث تُزرع على مساحة 5.9 مليون هكتار. ومن أهم المنتجين للبازلاء الهندية على مستوى العالم الهند، وميانمار، وملاوي، وتنزانيا، وكينيا. توجد البازلاء الهندية في الشكلين السنوي والمُعمر. وتُستخدم البازلاء الهندية في غذاء الإنسان وعلف الحيوان. وكما هو الحال مع البقوليات الأخرى، فتُستخدم البازلاء الهندية في بعض الأوقات كسماد طبيعي صديق للبيئة. ويُعد هذا المحصول من المحاصيل الهامة في الظروف البيئية شبه القاحلة بفضل قدرته على تحمل الظروف الحارة والجافة.

نشأت البازلاء الهندية من القريب البري لها (كاجنس كاجانفوليوس) في الهند الوسطى منذ 3500 قبل الحاضر. وانتشر المحصول من هناك إلى ماليزيا، وشرق أفريقيا وغرب أفريقيا. ووصل المحصول إلى العالم الجديد مع تجارة العبيد. قدمت الدراسات التي تربط التركيب الوراثي للبازلاء الهندية بسمات زراعية نظرة متعمقة لتساعد في تسريع إنتاج أنواع أكثر إنتاجية.

تضم جينيسيس معلومات عن حوالي 14,500 مُدخل للبازلاء الهندية، 57% منها لسلالات محلية، و33% لمواد تربية أو بحث، و3% للأقارب البرية. توجد أكبر مجموعة للبازلاء الهندية في المعهد الدولي لبحوث المحاصيل في المناطق الاستوائية شبه القاحلة (ICARDA).

الاسم الأصلي
Pigeonpea
المحاصيل في جينيسيس
28556269218_c6b6f3d94d.jpg
41707478604_3ed8c46e5a_z.jpg
منشآت الحيازة
KEN212
AUS165
ETH013
TWN001
أخرى
٤٨
دولة منشأة الحيازة
أخرى
٤٨
الأجناس الأكثر تمثيلًا
Rhynchosia
Flemingia
Dunbaria
Eriosema
أخرى
٣
الأنواع الأكثر تمثيلًا
Cajanus cajan
Cajanus scarabaeoides
Rhynchosia minima
Cajanus sp.
Cajanus acutifolius
أخرى
٣٨٤

Pigeonpea

Cajanus cajan

Pigeonpea (Cajanus cajan) is the sixth most important edible legume crop globally, with 5.9 million cultivated hectares. India, Myanmar, Malawi, Tanzania and Kenya are among the world’s top producers. Pigeonpea is found in both annual and perennial forms. It is used for both human nutrition and animal fodder. As with other legumes, it is sometimes used as green manure. Thanks to its tolerance to dry and hot conditions, it is an important crop in semi-arid conditions.

Pigeonpea originated from its wild progenitor (Cajanus cajanifolius) in central India 3500 BP. From there, it was spread to Malaysia, and East and West Africa. It arrived in the New World with the slave trade. Studies associating the genetic composition of pigeonpea with agronomic traits have provided insights to accelerate the production of more productive varieties.

Genesys lists information for about 14,500 pigeonpea accessions: 57% percent are landraces, 33% are breeding or research materials and 3% are wild relatives. The largest pigeonpea collection is conserved at the International Crop Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICARDA). 

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names