一般信息

Chickpea

鹰嘴豆

以种植和收获面积论,鹰嘴豆 (Cicer arietinum) 是最重要的食用豆类之一。印度是全世界种植和消耗鹰嘴豆最多的国家。全球几乎 90% 的鹰嘴豆产于以下六个国家:印度、澳大利亚、缅甸、土耳其、巴基斯坦和埃塞尔比亚。鹰嘴豆是冷季豆类,生长期为冬季或春季。

鹰嘴豆和以下其他作物都最初栽培于新月沃地:单粒小麦 (Triticum monococcum)、双粒小麦 (T. turgidum ssp. dicoccum)、大麦 (Hordeum vulgare)、兵豆 (Lens culinaris)、豌豆 (Pisum sativum)、亚麻 (Linum usitatissimum)、苦苕子 (V. ervilia) ,可能还有蚕豆 (V. faba)。人类最早使用鹰嘴豆的考古学证据可以追溯到 10000 年前,发现地点为叙利亚西北部。该作物大约在公元前 5500 年及以后从近东传入欧洲和中西亚。

鹰嘴豆主要分为两种:卡布里豆(又被称为鸡豆或鸡心豆)和迪西豆(又被称为黑鸡豆)。卡布里豆约在 8000 年前由迪西豆衍生而来。卡布里鹰嘴豆颗粒较大,呈米黄色,大部分种植于南亚,而迪西豆较小,颜色偏绿,大部分生长在地中海盆地。

Genesys 中列出了大约 55,000 种 鹰嘴豆种质。两处最大的收藏地点为印度的国际半干旱热带作物研究机构 (ICRISAT) 和黎巴嫩的国际半干旱热带作物研究机构 (ICARDA),其他重要收藏地点位于美国、土耳其和俄罗斯。 ICARDA 的收藏包括卡布里鹰嘴豆,而 ICRISAT 主要关注迪西鹰嘴豆。所列种质中,一半以上 (58%) 为传统品种和地方品种,仅 30% 以上为育种材料和改良品种。野生近缘种目前在种质中所占比重为 1.5%。

全球性鹰嘴豆基因资源异地保护策略确定了独一无二且高度多样性的收藏,这对于鹰嘴豆的培育至关重要。为了合理保护鹰嘴豆的多样性,该策略对各项行动进行优先排序,包括必要地为野生近缘种进一步开发访问级数据,并建立更新和保存协议等。

原始名称
Chickpea
Genesys 中的种质
27580294167_e8ffaca121_o.jpg
Cicer_arietinum_003.jpeg
所属机构
IND002
LBN002
AUS165
USA022
RUS001
其他
8,519
所属机构所在国家/地区
其他
8,494
最具代表性的属
Cicer
Astragalus
Pisum
Triticum
Vicia
最具代表性的种
Cicer arietinum
Cicer reticulatum
Cicer judaicum
Cicer pinnatifidum
Cicer bijugum
其他
566
其他名称
chick pea
chick-pea
chickpea
garbanzo
grao-de-bico
wild chickpea

Chickpea

Cicer arietinum

Chickpea (Cicer arietinum) is one of the most important food legume in terms of production and harvested area. India is the global leader in both production and consumption of chickpea. Almost 90% of global production comes from six countries: India, Australia, Myanmar, Turkey, Pakistan and Ethiopia. Chickpea is a cool-season legume, grown in either winter or spring.

Chickpea was domesticated in the Fertile Crescent, together with a number of other crops: einkorn (Triticum monococcum), emmer (T. turgidum ssp. dicoccum), barley (Hordeum vulgare), lentil (Lens culinaris), pea (Pisum sativum), flax (Linum usitatissimum), bitter vetch (V. ervilia) and probably faba beans (V. faba). The earliest archeological evidence of chickpea use dates back to 10000 BP, and was found in northwest Syria. The crop spread from the Near East to Europe and west-central Asia around 5500 BC onwards.

There are two major types of chickpeas: kabuli (also known as Bengal gram, chana or garbanzo) and desi (also known as Kala chana). Kabuli derived from desi types around 8000 BP. Kabuli chickpeas are large, beige colored and are largely grown in South Asia, whereas desi types are smaller, green colored and mostly grown in the Mediterranean basin.

There are about 55,000 chickpea accessions listed in Genesys. The two largest collections are at the International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT) in India, and the International Crop Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICARDA) in Lebanon, with additional important collections in the USA, Turkey and Russia. ICARDA’s collection include kabuli-type chickpeas, whereas ICRISAT’s specializes in desi types. More than half (58%) of the listed accessions are traditional cultivars and landraces, with just over 30% breeding material and improved varieties. Wild relatives currently make up 1.5% of the accessions.

The global strategy for the ex situ conservation of chickpea genetic resources identifies unique and highly diverse collections that are key for chickpea breeding. It prioritizes actions to achieve a rational conservation of chickpea diversity, including the need to further develop accession level data, and establish regeneration and conservation protocols for wild relatives.

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names