一般信息

Barley

大麦属

大麦最早栽培于称为“新月沃地”的地区,目前依然有其野生祖先野生大麦属亚种 (Hordeum vulgare subsp. spontaneum) 在该地区生长。栽培大麦的其它多样性中心位于埃塞俄比亚和摩洛哥以及亚洲部分地区。野生近缘种则广泛分布于欧洲、亚洲、非洲和美洲。

大麦生长地区广泛,从北极地区到热带地区,从海平面高度到高海拔地区都可看到其身影。西藏、尼泊尔、埃塞俄比亚和安第斯山脉的农民在海拔过高导致其它谷物无法存活的地区种植大麦。北美、中东、阿富汗、巴基斯坦、厄立特里亚和也门的旱地也以种植大麦为主。大麦分布广泛,用途多样(包括作为人类的粮食,动物的饲料,以及酿制酒精饮料的原材料),是全球四种最重要的谷物之一。

作为一种原始主食谷物,大麦的重要性反映在 Genesys 的种质数量上:176,000 多种。Genesys 的大多数种质属于优良材料,包括已发布的栽培品种和研究代系。其中大约 22% 属于传统品种和地方品种。种质广泛分布于各基因库中,最大的收藏地只含有所列种质的三分之一。全球性大麦种质异地保护和使用策略共确定 402,000 余种,在全球范围内收录于 49 个主要的收藏地。

原始名称
Barley
Genesys 中的种质
original.jpeg
所属机构
USA029
SYR002
AUS165
BRA003
RUS001
其他
101,741
所属机构所在国家/地区
其他
97,879
最具代表性的属
Hordeum
Brassica
Elymus
Oryza
Phaselous
最具代表性的种
Hordeum vulgare
Hordeum hordeum vulgare
Hordeum spontaneum
Hordeum bulbosum
Hordeum murinum
其他
1,775
其他名称
barley
Cebada
common barley
Hordeum
spring barley
wild barley
winter barley

Barley

Hordeum spp.

Barley was first domesticated in the area called the Fertile Crescent, where its wild progenitor Hordeum vulgare subsp. spontaneum still grows. Other centres of diversity of cultivated barley are found in Ethiopia and Morocco and parts of Asia. Wild relatives are distributed widely in Europe, Asia, Africa and the Americas.

Barley is grown from arctic latitudes to tropical areas and from sea level to high altitudes. In Tibet, Nepal, Ethiopia and the Andes, farmers cultivate barley at elevations higher than any other cereal. Barley predominates in the dry lands of North Africa, the Middle East, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Eritrea and Yemen. With such a widespread distribution, and with diverse uses that include human food, animal feed and as a raw material for alcoholic beverages, barley is the fourth most important cereal in the world.

The importance of barley as one of the original staple cereals is reflected in the number of accessions: more than 176,000 are listed in Genesys. Most of these are advanced materials, including released cultivars and research lines. About 22% are traditional varieties and landraces. Accessions are widely distributed among genebanks, with the largest collection holding only a third of the listed accessions. The global strategy for the ex situ conservation and use of barley germplasm identified 402,000 accessions held in 49 major collections worldwide.

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names