一般信息

Cassava

 木薯

木薯 (Manihot esculenta) 是一种多年生木本灌木,块根可食。它生长在热带和亚热带地区,又称南洋薯、木番薯、树薯。

大约 10,000 年前,炎热的美洲就已经在栽培这种作物,16 世纪被葡萄牙商人传入非洲,后来又从非洲和美洲传入亚洲。目前在全球 90 多个国家/地区都有栽种,为发展中国家的 5 亿人口带来食物和收入。在撒哈拉以南非洲的广大地区,以及拉丁美洲和东南亚的部分地区,木薯是膳食能量的主要日常来源。

Genesys 列表中包括有超过 9,000 种木薯种质的数据,其中 75% 为传统品种或地方品种。绝大多数木薯种质以试管苗的形式保存在哥伦比亚的国际热带农业研究中心 (C CIAT),较少数保存在尼日利亚的国际热带农业研究所 (IITA)。这两家机构都采用其基因库中的木薯基因资源培育改良品种。

IITA 是 Nextgen Cassava Project 的合作伙伴,后者维护的木薯数据库 Cassavabase 包含了各种农业试验结果。CIAT 的研究合作伙伴包括有 Corporación CLAYUCA,该机构在拉丁美洲和加勒比海地区推动木薯生产和加工改良技术的开发和传播。

全球性木薯 (Manihot esculenta) 和野生木薯品种的保护策略确定了高效、有效保护木薯基因多样性的行动,包括开展新的采集任务、使用补充方式保存材料,以及增强国家农业研究机构和国际中心之间的协作。

原始名称
Cassava
Genesys 中的种质
44601565885_6f439a3763_o.jpg
44601643085_d3e41286fc_o.jpg
43054043805_583d019015_o.jpg
所属机构
COL003
BRA004
NGA039
BRA018
BRA027
其他
171
所属机构所在国家/地区
CRI
USA
其他
16
最具代表性的属
Manihot
最具代表性的种
Manihot esculenta
Manihot peruviana
Manihot carthaginensis
Manihot caerulescens
Manihot tristis
其他
70
其他名称
cassava
mandioca

Cassava

Manihot esculenta

Cassava (Manihot esculenta) is a perennial woody shrub with edible roots. It grows in tropical and subtropical areas of the world and is also called yuca, manioc and mandioca.

The crop has been cultivated in tropical America for probably about 10,000 years. It was introduced to Africa by Portuguese traders during the 16th century and later to Asia, both from Africa and from the Americas. It is now grown in more than 90 countries and provides food and income for 500 million people in the developing world. In large areas of Sub-Saharan Africa, and in parts of Latin America and Southeast Asia, cassava provides a major daily source of dietary energy.

Genesys lists more than 9,000 accessions of cassava, 75% of them traditional cultivars or landraces. The majority of accessions are maintained as in vitro plants by the Centro Internacional de Agricultura Tropical (CIAT) in Colombia, with a slightly smaller number at the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) in Nigeria. Both institutes are using cassava genetic resources from their genebanks to breed improved varieties.     

IITA is a partner in the Nextgen Cassava Project, which maintains Cassavabase. This database includes results of agronomic trials. CIAT's research partnerships include Corporación CLAYUCA, which promotes the development and spread of improved technologies for cassava production and processing in Latin America and the Caribbean.

The global conservation strategy for cassava (Manihot esculenta) and wild Manihot species identifies actions for the efficient and effective conservation and use cassava genetic diversity, including: conducting new collecting missions, conserving materials using complementary methods, and increasing collaboration between national agricultural research institutes and international centers.

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names