معلومات عامة

Cassava

مانيهوت إسكولنتا

الكسافا (مانيهوت إسكولنتا) هي شجيرة خشبية مُعمرة ذات جذور صالحة للأكل. وهي تنمو في المناطق الاستوائية وشبه الاستوائية في العالم وتسمى أيضًا باسم البفرة، واليوكا، والمانيوك، والمانديوكا.

زُرع المحصول في المناطق المدارية من أمريكا منذ ما يقرب من 10,000 عام. وقد تم إدخاله لأفريقيا من خلال التجار البرتغاليين خلال القرن السادس عشر وتم إدخاله إلى آسيا في وقت لاحق من كل من أفريقيا والأمريكيتين. وهو يُزرع الآن في أكثر من 90 بلدًا ويوفر الغذاء والدخل لـ 500 مليون شخص في العالم النامي. وتوفر الكسافا مصدرًا يوميًا رئيسيًا للطاقة الغذائية في مناطق واسعة من أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى، وأجزاء من أمريكا اللاتينية، وجنوب شرق آسيا.

تدرج جينيسيس أكثر من 9,000 مُدخل من الكسافا، 75% منها أصناف تقليدية وسلالات محلية. ويتم الاحتفاظ بالجزء الأكبر من المُدخلات في شكل نباتات مختبرية بواسطة المركز الدولي للزراعة الاستوائية (CIAT) في كولومبيا، ويوجد عدد أصغر بقليل في المعهد الدولي للزاعة الاستوائية (IITA) في نيجيريا. تستخدم الجهتان الموارد الوراثية للكسافا الموجودة في البنوك الوراثية الخاصة بهم لتربية أصناف مُحسَّنة.

إن المعهد الدولي للزراعة الاستوائية (IITA) شريك في مشروع الجيل القادم للكسافا (Nextgen Cassava Project) الذي يدعم قاعدة الكسافا. تشمل قاعدة البيانات هذه نتائج التجارب الزراعية. وتضم الشراكات البحثية للمركز الدولي للزارعة الاستوائية (CIAT) شركة Corporación CLAYUCA التي تشجع على تطوير ونشر التقنيات المُحسنة لإنتاج الكسافا وتجهيزها في أمريكا اللاتينية ومنطقة الكاريبي.

توضح الاستراتيجية العالمية للاحتفاظ بالكسافا (مانيهوت إسكولنتا) والأنواع البرية من المانيهوت خطوات تنفيذية للاحتفاظ الفعّال والناجح بالتنوع الوراثي للكسافا ولاستخدامه، وهذه الخطوات تشمل: القيام بمهمات جمع جديدة، والاحتفاظ بالمواد باستخدام طرق مُتممة لبعضها، وزيادة التعاون بين مؤسسات الأبحاث الزراعية الوطنية والمراكز الدولية.

الاسم الأصلي
Cassava
المحاصيل في جينيسيس
44601565885_6f439a3763_o.jpg
44601643085_d3e41286fc_o.jpg
43054043805_583d019015_o.jpg
منشآت الحيازة
BRA027
BRA018
أخرى
١٧١
دولة منشأة الحيازة
USA
أخرى
١٦
الأجناس الأكثر تمثيلًا
الأنواع الأكثر تمثيلًا
Manihot esculenta
Manihot peruviana
Manihot carthaginensis
Manihot caerulescens
Manihot tristis
أخرى
٧٠
أسماء أخرى
cassava
mandioca

General information

Cassava

Manihot esculenta

Cassava (Manihot esculenta) is a perennial woody shrub with edible roots. It grows in tropical and subtropical areas of the world and is also called yuca, manioc and mandioca.

The crop has been cultivated in tropical America for probably about 10,000 years. It was introduced to Africa by Portuguese traders during the 16th century and later to Asia, both from Africa and from the Americas. It is now grown in more than 90 countries and provides food and income for 500 million people in the developing world. In large areas of Sub-Saharan Africa, and in parts of Latin America and Southeast Asia, cassava provides a major daily source of dietary energy.

Genesys lists more than 9,000 accessions of cassava, 75% of them traditional cultivars or landraces. The majority of accessions are maintained as in vitro plants by the Centro Internacional de Agricultura Tropical (CIAT) in Colombia, with a slightly smaller number at the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) in Nigeria. Both institutes are using cassava genetic resources from their genebanks to breed improved varieties.     

IITA is a partner in the Nextgen Cassava Project, which maintains Cassavabase. This database includes results of agronomic trials. CIAT's research partnerships include Corporación CLAYUCA, which promotes the development and spread of improved technologies for cassava production and processing in Latin America and the Caribbean.

The global conservation strategy for cassava (Manihot esculenta) and wild Manihot species identifies actions for the efficient and effective conservation and use cassava genetic diversity, including: conducting new collecting missions, conserving materials using complementary methods, and increasing collaboration between national agricultural research institutes and international centers.

Original name
Cassava
Accessions in genesys
44601565885_6f439a3763_o.jpg
44601643085_d3e41286fc_o.jpg
43054043805_583d019015_o.jpg
Holding institutes
COL003
NGA039
BRA004
BRA018
BRA027
Other
201
Country of holding institute
CRI
FJI
Other
21
Most represented Genera
Manihot
Most represented Species
Manihot esculenta
Manihot carthaginensis
Manihot peruviana
Manihot caerulescens
Manihot guaranitica
Other
195
Other names
cassava
mandioca