معلومات عامة

Sweetpotato

أيبومويا باتاتس

البطاطا الحلوة (أيبومويا باتاتس) هي أحد المحاصيل الجذرية والدرنية الرئيسية في العالم. تُزرع البطاطا الحلوة في المناطق المدارية، وتحديدًا في منطقة الكاريبي، وأفريقيا جنوب الصحراء، وشرق آسيا، وجنوب شرق آسيا. يشيع استخدام الجذور الدرنية لهذا المحصول كغذاء آدمي، أما الأوراق والبتيلة فتُستخدم لإطعام الحيوانات.

يرجع الموطن الأصلي للمحصول في المناطق الاستوائية في أمريكا، وغالبًا ما تم تدجينه في عمليتين منفصلتين؛ أحدهم في أمريكا الوسطى والأخرى في شمال غرب أمريكا الجنوبية. ما زالت الطريقة التي انتشر بها المحصول في جزر المحيط الهادئ محل جدل، ولكن وصل المحصول لنيوزيلاندا في حوالي الفترة من 1150 إلى 1250 بعد الميلاد. ثم في القرن السادس عشر، أدخل الإسبان الأنواع التي نشأت في وسط أمريكا إلى الفلبين، بينما أدخل البرتغال الأنواع التي نشأت في أمريكا الوسطى ومنطقة الكاريبي إلى إندونيسيا. والآن تُمثل بابوا غينيا الجديدة مركزًا ثانويًا للتنوع. وفيما بعد أدخل البرتغال المحصول إلى أفريقيا.

تضم جينيسيس حاليًا معلومات عن حوالي 8,000 مُدخل للبطاطا الحلوة، منها 54% لسلالات محلية، و11% لأقارب برية. توجد أكبر مجموعة في المركز الدولي للبطاطس (CIP)، وتتلوها المجموعة الموجودة في البنوك الوراثية الخاصة بالخدمات الزراعية التابعة لوزارة الزراعة الأمريكية (USDA-ARS).

نظرًا للدور الذي تؤديه البطاطا الحلوة في تدعيم الأمن الغذائي، أنتج وطرح الباحثون الذين يعملون بالاشتراك مع مركز HarvestPlus أنواع عالية الإنتاجية من البطاطا الحلوة قادرة على توفير الاحتياجات اليومية من فيتامين أ مع مقاومة الأمراض الفيروسية وتحمل الجفاف. حصل الباحثون على جائزة الغذاء العالمية في عام 2016 تقديرًا لعملهم هذا. كما يستغل المربون التنوع الوراثي للأقارب البرية للبطاطا الحلوة للحصول على مادة أم قادرة على تحمل الجفاف. تم تطوير استراتيجية عالمية لتأمين توفر تنوع البطاطا الحلوة في المستقبل.

الاسم الأصلي
Sweetpotato
المحاصيل في جينيسيس
Ipomoea_batatas_006.JPG
منشآت الحيازة
PER001
USA016
USA148
USA995
USA005
دولة منشأة الحيازة
USA
الأجناس الأكثر تمثيلًا
Ipomoea
الأنواع الأكثر تمثيلًا
Ipomoea batatas
Ipomoea trifida
Ipomoea sp.
Ipomoea grandifolia
Ipomoea cordatotriloba
أخرى
597

Sweet potato

Ipomoea batatas

The sweetpotato (Ipomoea batatas) is one of the world’s principal root and tuber crops. It is mainly cultivated in the tropics, more specifically in the Caribbean, Sub-Saharan Africa, and East and Southeast Asia. Its tuberous root is commonly used for human consumption, and its leaves and shoots for animal feed.

The crop originated in tropical America, probably in two separate domestications: one in Central America, and the other in northwestern South America. How it spread to the Pacific islands is controversial, but the crop reached New Zealand around 1150-1250 AD. A second introduction took place during the 16th century, when the Spanish brought Mesoamerican types to the Philippines, and the Portuguese took Central American and Caribbean types to Indonesia. Papua New Guinea is now a secondary centre of diversity. Later, the Portuguese introduced the crop to Africa.

Genesys currently displays information for about 8,000 sweetpotato accessions. About 54% of the accessions are landraces, and 11% are wild relatives. The International Potato Center (CIP) holds the largest collection, followed by the USDA-ARS genebanks.

Due to its role in food security, researchers working with HarvestPlus have produced and released highly productive sweetpotato varieties able to provide daily vitamin A needs, while being resistant to virus diseases and tolerant to drought. They received the World Food Prize in 2016 for this work. Breeders are also exploiting the genetic diversity of sweetpotato wild relatives to obtain drought tolerant parental material. A global strategy has been developed to secure the future availability of sweet potato diversity.

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names