一般信息

Sorghum

高粱

以种植和收获面积论,高粱是全世界第五重要的谷类作物。该耐干旱作物的种植面积达到 4500 万公顷,其中 75% 集中在以下十个国家:苏丹、印度、尼日利亚、尼日尔、美国、墨西哥、埃塞俄比亚、布基纳法索、马里和乍得。高粱是亚洲和非洲的主食作物之一,其种植用于食用及工业目的。

高粱栽培随着萨赫勒的牲畜饲养而出现,以适应该地区的干燥环境。人类最早使用高粱的考古学证据可以追溯到大约 9000 年前,发现地点为埃及和苏丹的边境。高粱是研究文化因素如何影响作物基因组合形成及地理分布的典型范例。它与理解传统换种体系如何运作尤其密切相关,从而有助于找到传播改良品种的有效方式。

全球性异地保护高粱策略根据其作物多样性样品、可获取的特性和评估数据,以及材料和相关信息的可得性和可利用性,确定了三个主要的种质收藏地:ICRISAT、USDA-ARS 和印度的国家植物基因资源局。Genesys 维护着关于将近 100,000 种种质的信息,包括保存于 USDA-ARS 基因库ICRISAT 内的信息等。

原始名称
Sorghum
Genesys 中的种质
4522771557_58e04677a4_o.jpg
所属机构
IND002
USA016
USA005
USA995
KEN212
其他
11,437
所属机构所在国家/地区
其他
3,601
最具代表性的属
Sorghum
Hybrid
最具代表性的种
Sorghum bicolor
Sorghum sp.
Sorghum spp.
Sorghum halepense
Sorghum saccharatum
其他
423

Sorghum

Sorghum bicolor

Sorghum is the fifth most important cereal crop in the world in terms of production and harvested area. This drought-tolerant crop is grown on 45 million hectares, with 75% of the area concentrated in ten countries: Sudan, India, Nigeria, Niger, USA, Mexico, Ethiopia, Burkina Faso, Mali and Chad. Sorghum is a staple crop in Asia and Africa, and is grown for both food and industrial purposes.

Sorghum cultivation emerged with cattle herding as an adaptation to the dry conditions of the Sahel. The earliest archeological evidence of the use of sorghum by humans is dated at about 9000 BP, and was found in the border between Egypt and Sudan. Sorghum has been used as a model to study the influence of cultural factors in shaping the genetic composition and the geographical distribution of crops. This is particularly relevant to understand how traditional seed-exchange systems work, and therefore to find efficient ways to diffuse improved varieties.

The global strategy for the ex situ conservation of sorghum identifies three major germplasm collections based on their sampling of crop diversity, availability of characterization and evaluation data, and accessibility and availability of material and related information: ICRISAT, USDA-ARS and the National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources in India. Genesys maintains information on almost 100,000 accessions, including those held at the USDA-ARS genebanks and ICRISAT.

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names