Rice

Oryza spp.

Zusammen mit Mais und Weizen liefert Reis mehr als 42 % der Kalorien der weltweiten menschlichen Ernährung. Reis wird sowohl in tropischen als auch gemäßigten Gebieten und sowohl in regenwassergespeisten als auch bewässerten Systemen angebaut. Zwei Oryza1Arten werden angebaut: O. sativa, weltweit und O. glaberrima, hauptsächlich in Westafrika, aber auch in kleinen Gebieten in Lateinamerika.

Asiatischer Reis (O. sativa) umfasst zwei Unterarten: japonica, welche auch in kühleren Bereichen der Tropen und in gemäßigten Zonen angebaut wird und indica, welche in tropischen und subtropischen Regionen angebaut wird. Reis wurde vor 8200-13500 Jahren in China domestiziert und verbreitete sich in Süd-, Ost- und Südostasien. In den letzten Jahrhunderten v. Chr. erreichte der asiatische Reis das südliche Zweistromland, Griechenland und das Mittelmeer. Von hier gelangte Reis allmählich nach Südeuropa. Portugiesische und spanische Siedler brachten Reis im Zuge des Kolumbianischen Austauschs in die Neue Welt.

Auf der anderen Seite wurde afrikanischer Reis (O. glaberrima) zuerst vor 2.000-3.000 Jahren am oberen Niger domestiziert. Afrikanischer Reis gelangte im Zuge des Sklavenhandels im 17. Jahrhundert auf den amerikanischen Kontinent.

Nach der weltweiten Strategie zur Erhaltung der genetischen Ressourcen von Reis gibt es mehr als 500.000 Akzessionen in der Welt. Die sechst größten Genbanken für Reis bewahren zusammen 70 % der weltweiten Akzessionen und befinden sich alle in Asien.

Reis wird in Form von botanischem Samen konserviert. Genesys enthält Informationen zu mehr als 200.000 Reis-Akzessionen, darunter befinden sich fast 65.500 Landsorten. Das International Rice Research Institute (IRRI), hält die größte Reiskollektion, gefolgt von den USDA-ARS genebanks und AfricaRice.

RICE, das Forschungsprogramm für Reis von CGIAR arbeitet an ertragreichen und biofortifizierten Sorten und Technologien zur Verringerung der mit diesem Getreide verbundenen Umweltbelastung. Das Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice), das International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT), das French Agricultural Centre Research Center for International Development (CIRAD), das French Research Institute for Development (IRD) und das Japan International Center for Agricultural Sciences (JIRCAS) sind Partner in diesem Forschungsprogramm.

 

Allgemeine Informationen

Größe der Genbank-Sammlungen

Sonstige akzeptierte Namen

Rice

Oryza spp.

Together with maize and wheat, rice supplies more than 42% of the calories of the human diet globally. It is grown in both tropical and temperate regions, in both rainfed and irrigated systems. Two Oryza species are cultivated: O. sativa, grown worldwide, and O. glaberrima, grown mainly in West Africa but also in small pockets in Latin America.

Asian rice (O. sativa) contains two subspecies: japonica, grown in cooler zones of the tropics and temperate zones; and indica, grown in tropical and subtropical regions. It was domesticated in China between 8200-13500 BP and expanded to South, East and Southeast Asia. Asian rice reached Lower Mesopotamia, Greece and the Mediterranean in the late centuries BC. From there, it gradually spread to southern Europe. Portuguese and Spanish settlers introduced rice to the New World during the Columbian Exchange.

On the other hand, African rice (O. glaberrima) was first domesticated between 2,000-3,000 BP in the Upper Niger River. African rice was introduced to the American continent during the 17th century through the slave trade. 

According to the global strategy for the conservation of rice genetic resources, there are more than 500,000 rice accessions in the world. The six largest rice genebanks conserve together 70% of the world holding, and they are all located in Asia.   

Rice is conserved as botanical seeds. Genesys contains information on more than 200,000 rice accessions, with including nearly 65,500 landraces. The largest rice collections are held by The International Rice Research Institute (IRRI), followed by USDA-ARS genebanks and AfricaRice

RICE, the CGIAR Research Program on Rice, is working on high-yielding and biofortified varieties, and technologies to reduce the environmental footprint associated with the crop. Partners in this research program are the Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice), the International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT), the French Agricultural Centre Research Center for International Development (CIRAD), the French Research Institute for Development (IRD) and the Japan International Center for Agricultural Sciences (JIRCAS). 

 

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names