一般信息

Rice

稻属

水稻与玉米及小麦一起,为全球人类饮食提供超过 42% 的热量。水稻生长于热带和温带两个地区,可通过雨养和灌溉系统栽培。目前种植的稻属品种有两个:可于世界范围内栽种的亚洲稻 (O. sativa) 和主要生长于西非但也有少数分布在拉丁美洲的非洲稻 (O. glaberrima)。

亚洲水稻 (O. sativa) 包含两个亚种:栽种于热带和温带温度较低地区的粳稻;与栽种于热带和亚热带的籼稻。 早在 8,200 至 13,500 年前,中国就已经开始栽培水稻,并将其传播到了南亚、东亚和东南亚。公元前几个世纪后期,亚洲水稻传入下美索不达米亚、希腊和地中海。从此逐渐传播到南欧。“哥伦布大交换”期间,葡萄牙和西班牙殖民者将水稻引入“新世界”。

另一个水稻品种非洲水稻(O. glaberrima)早在 2,000 至 3,000 年前就开始种植于尼日河上游。非洲水稻于 17 世纪通过奴隶贸易传播到美洲大陆。

根据全球性水稻基因资源保护策略,全世界有超过 500,000 种水稻基因种质。六个最大的水稻基因库保存的种质占全球的 70%,而且它们全部位于亚洲。

水稻以植物种子的形式进行保存。Genesys 包含有 200,000 多种水稻种质的信息,其中有近 65,500 种地方品种。最大的水稻收藏机构是国际水稻研究所 (IRRI),而 USDA-ARS 基因库非洲水稻中心紧随其后。

CGIAR 水稻研究计划 RICE 专注于研究高产量的强化品种,以及减少作物相关环境足迹的技术。此项研究计划的合作伙伴有非洲水稻中心 (AfricaRice)、国际热带农业中心 (CIAT)、法国农业中心国际发展研究中心 (CIRAD)、法国发展研究所 (IRD) 和日本国际农业科学研究中心 (JIRCAS)。

 

原始名称
Rice
Genesys 中的种质
29339651376_a7ac915a8f_k.jpg
所属机构
PHL001
USA970
CIV033
USA029
BRA008
其他
28,428
所属机构所在国家/地区
其他
8,484
最具代表性的属
Oryza
Unknown
Leersia
Potamophila
Pisum
其他
1
最具代表性的种
Oryza sativa
Oryza glaberrima
Oryza o.sativa
Oryza nivara
Oryza rufipogon
其他
3,729
其他名称
arroz
asian rice
Oryza
rice
wild rice

Rice

Oryza spp.

Together with maize and wheat, rice supplies more than 42% of the calories of the human diet globally. It is grown in both tropical and temperate regions, in both rainfed and irrigated systems. Two Oryza species are cultivated: O. sativa, grown worldwide, and O. glaberrima, grown mainly in West Africa but also in small pockets in Latin America.

Asian rice (O. sativa) contains two subspecies: japonica, grown in cooler zones of the tropics and temperate zones; and indica, grown in tropical and subtropical regions. It was domesticated in China between 8200-13500 BP and expanded to South, East and Southeast Asia. Asian rice reached Lower Mesopotamia, Greece and the Mediterranean in the late centuries BC. From there, it gradually spread to southern Europe. Portuguese and Spanish settlers introduced rice to the New World during the Columbian Exchange.

On the other hand, African rice (O. glaberrima) was first domesticated between 2,000-3,000 BP in the Upper Niger River. African rice was introduced to the American continent during the 17th century through the slave trade. 

According to the global strategy for the conservation of rice genetic resources, there are more than 500,000 rice accessions in the world. The six largest rice genebanks conserve together 70% of the world holding, and they are all located in Asia.   

Rice is conserved as botanical seeds. Genesys contains information on more than 200,000 rice accessions, with including nearly 65,500 landraces. The largest rice collections are held by The International Rice Research Institute (IRRI), followed by USDA-ARS genebanks and AfricaRice

RICE, the CGIAR Research Program on Rice, is working on high-yielding and biofortified varieties, and technologies to reduce the environmental footprint associated with the crop. Partners in this research program are the Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice), the International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT), the French Agricultural Centre Research Center for International Development (CIRAD), the French Research Institute for Development (IRD) and the Japan International Center for Agricultural Sciences (JIRCAS). 

 

General information

Size of genebank collections

Other accepted names